Looking for Glass on ebay? Angela's Designer Searches can help! Click here!

Author Topic: whitefriars drunken  (Read 701 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RAY

  • Members
  • **
  • Posts: 988
whitefriars drunken
« on: June 29, 2007, 07:54:57 PM »
someone's very busy knocking these out, and the seller has sold a few

cheers Ray

Offline Pip

  • Members
  • **
  • Posts: 1386
  • Gender: Female
    • Pips Trip Online Shop
Re: whitefriars drunken
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2007, 09:40:25 PM »
Hi Ray, yes I've been aware of these on eBay for a while and it's interesting that the seller isn't claiming them to be WF anymore - I guess that confirms what everyone knew already, that they're modern 'repros' (being kind).  I wonder who's doing them?

Offline Quackers

  • Members
  • **
  • Posts: 144
    • www.plantpref.co.uk
Re: whitefriars drunken
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2007, 06:08:54 PM »
It is well worth looking in on the forums on www.whitefriars.com and www.whitefriars.org for more information on these apparently fake bricklayers.  They seem to be coming from the southwest, particularly Cornwall and are often being sold by the same seller who sell dodgy designer clothes.  I understand that while ebay don't seem to be doing anything about them there may be other investigations under way.

I started with Carnival glass, then other C20 irridescent, then Whitefriars ducks, then Dartington FT Daisies etc, then Whitefriars Tricorns...when will it end?



Link to Glass Encyclopedia
Link to Glass Museum
key words
to search