No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Can you give any help in ID'ing this large paperweight? Thanks!  (Read 1780 times)

Offline miragenet

• Members
Can you give any help in ID'ing this large paperweight? Thanks!
« on: December 05, 2007, 12:27:50 AM »
I have no experience with paperweights, for all I know this could be useless junk - but it feels nice to me.  It's large, standing 5.5" tall and about 3" across the base.  No signature, just an old paper label that's impossible to read.  Any help greatly appreciated!

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline Leni

• Members
Re: Can you give any help in ID'ing this large paperweight? Thanks!
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2007, 09:17:23 AM »
IMHO, something which someone thinks "feels nice" cannot, by definition, be "useless junk"  ;)

I'm sorry I don't know about the maker of this weight, but I think it could be modern Chinese.  Or should I say Taiwanese.  But whatever, I don't reckon it's 'junk'.  It's a pleasant and attractive design  :)     
Leni

Support the Glass Message Board by finding glass through glass-seek.com

Offline miragenet

• Members
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2007, 04:59:51 PM »
Thanks, Leni!

Are there certain things to look for to determine whether these are new or old, good or average, etc.?  I seem to be running into a lot of paperweights lately and of course I have no clue!  :)

Offline KevinH

• Global Moderator
  • Members
    • England
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2007, 11:03:41 PM »
I tned to agree with Leni's thoughts about this being a modern Chinese or Taiwanese item.