No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Two Blue Jugs... Riihimaen... Zwiesel...?  (Read 3279 times)

Offline Pinkspoons

• Members
    • UK
Two Blue Jugs... Riihimaen... Zwiesel...?
« on: December 11, 2005, 03:01:40 PM »
Today's been a blue day for me... as I bought 4 blue pieces - thankfully I know what two of them are (Holmegaard) - but these two I don't know:

The jug on the left, I've no clue, but the jug on the right seems to be attributed by many internet folk as from Nanny Still's Harlekiini range. I always thought Harlekiini was stemmed? Not that I'm an expert...  :)

This fellow says otherwise, and links to others who seem to think the same... HERE

Both jugs were bought from the same person, they are very nearly the same colour, have the same quality of finish and the same bases (inverted pontil, polished), so IF one is Riihimaen, could they both be?

Offline Della

• Members
  • Addicted to glass!
    • Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2005, 04:18:58 PM »
Nic,
Your jug on the left looks incredibly like a Zwiesel jug that I have, qua size and shape, colour etc., only without the silver bubbles.
But I could be a million miles off track :!:
If I know, I'll comment. If I think I know, I'll have a go. If I have no idea, I'll just keep quiet and learn from others, so the next time I'll know.

Offline Pinkspoons

• Members
    • UK
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2005, 04:37:45 PM »
Oh, I forgot about sizes - the smaller jug is a touch below 9" and the suspect Riihimaen is just under 16" at its tallest point.  :)

Offline Della

• Members
  • Addicted to glass!