No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Tall faceted paperweight, odd coloring. Murano?  (Read 1851 times)

Offline bloclevel

• Members
Tall faceted paperweight, odd coloring. Murano?
« on: September 10, 2011, 08:25:35 PM »
Hello all! This is my first time posting to your forum. I hope I do this right. I'm looking for help with a possible ID for this 8 sided weight. The panels work up from 8, ending in 4 at the tip. The glass is well polished and the facets are very smooth to the touch. The body coloring of the weight looks smokey yellowish green.  I don't know if the elements inside the weight are causing the color shift. The bottom is polished smooth with quite a lot of wear. The weight stand approx. 5.5" high. Very heavy. If anyone has any points or leads to help me with narrowing down a maker. (Or country!) I would be very appreciative. Thanks for looking. Tim

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline tropdevin

• Members
    • Paperweights
    • England
    • The Paperweight People
Re: Tall faceted paperweight, odd coloring. Murano?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2011, 09:15:28 PM »

I fairly sure this is a Czech item - hard to say how old, as similar pieces have been made for around 100 years. Both the internal decorations and facetting are typical of these paperweights.  The tinge to the glass suggests older rather than newer, so maybe 1900 - 1930. I'm not sure you will narrow it down to a specific maker.

Alan
Alan  (The Paperweight People  https://www.pwts.co.uk)