No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Help Identifying Vase - French Opaline Glass?  (Read 2833 times)

Offline CityGirl8

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • all types art glass
    • United States of America
Help Identifying Vase - French Opaline Glass?
« on: December 01, 2012, 04:55:35 PM »
I am new to collecting and just purchased this vase.  The owner thought is was French, perhaps from the 1800's.
I do not see any maker's marks.   The base is heavy, and might be gilded bronze.
Can anyone help me in learning about this vase, time of manufacture and approximate value?
Thanks so much!

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline flying free

• Members
    • UK
Re: Help Identifying Vase - French Opaline Glass?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2012, 07:39:42 PM »
Hello and welcome to the board  :)
Your vase is pretty and is I think known as an 'epergne'. I also I believe made of opalescent glass.
I'm sorry I can't date it - I might have thought Italy or France possibly, but that would be a guess.
I'm sure someone will be along shortly who will be able to help you much more than I can  :)
Is it possible to put on clear pictures of the base that enlarge when clicked as well as a clearer picture of the metal part please?
many thanks
m

Support the Glass Message Board by finding glass through glass-seek.com

Offline chopin-liszt

• Members
    • Scotland, Europe.
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2012, 08:12:08 PM »
It looks a bit like blue straw opalescent - not just plain opalescent - or is it missing the straw yellow colour?