No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Antique Millefiori Paperweight French Clichy ? 19th century ID help please  (Read 1614 times)

Offline stubbsywubsy

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • Oddities, Early Glass
    • United Kingdom
Hello Everyone,

i recently have came across this charming Millefiori paperweight, it looks to be 19th century.

i was hoping someone could help identify the maker. is it French, Italian or somewhere else?

i am far from an expert, but the canes to me look like some i have had before on Clichy weights but as i said i am far from an expert.
the base has a scrambled effect of colour, also the weight is an unusual shape. it seems to almost "square off" at the "top rim" leaving a flatter top surface rather than a rounded one.
thank you for taking the time to read this
kind regards steven

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline tropdevin

• Members
    • Paperweights
    • England
    • The Paperweight People

Hi.  I am pretty sure that it is a German paperweight, probably from Thuringia, late 19th - early 20th century.  The coloured glass fragment ground, flat base, rather irregular design and low dome are fairly typical.  The glass in these is not lead crystal, and is usually of modest quality with lots of tiny bubbles and a noticeable colour cast.

Alan
Alan  (The Paperweight People  https://www.pwts.co.uk)

"There are two rules for ultimate success in life. Number 1: Never tell everything you know."