No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Is this Czech glass? ID = Chribska  (Read 2326 times)

Offline louisa54

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • 60s and 70s glass
    • UK
Is this Czech glass? ID = Chribska
« on: April 06, 2016, 11:36:26 AM »
Hi I'm new to this - so please excuse my ignorance. I have been collecting, inadvertently - in that I just go by the look of what I like - Czech and Scandinavian glass for a few years. Mostly I go for the faceted 60s Czech glass from makers such as Borske Sklo and Scandinavian 70s designs.

The piece I have photographed here does not really  fit in with my collection - bit too 'organic' for my taste. But I am wondering if copies of this particular design are made in China or somewhere as I have seen one or two of them around. Mine is very heavy and has a few tiny bubbles as well as a couple of white specks - ash? (see, I am clueless) which I am thinking is maybe a sign that it is not good quality.

Offline Paul S.

• Members
Re: Is this Czech glass?
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2016, 12:48:26 PM »
hello Louisa  -   ............  there's nothing inadvertent about........"I just go by the look of what I like"  -  in fact it's probably one of the best ways to collect  -  at least you always like what you have.