No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Old Cut Glass Lidded Bowl or Sweetmeat Jar  (Read 1952 times)

Offline cutglassfan

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • cut glass
    • UK
Old Cut Glass Lidded Bowl or Sweetmeat Jar
« on: May 04, 2016, 07:14:24 PM »
Hello List,
I'm a newbie, and this is my first posting. I have always loved cut glass but have only recently started collecting older objects and my most recent purchase is baffling me. It's very ornately cut all over with strawberry diamonds and the lid and body both have a swirling pattern of what I can only call Paisley pattern teardrop shapes. It's about 6 inches high and very heavy for its size at over 1 kilo but I just have no idea whether it's old English/Irish or a more modern European item in the style of older pieces. It has a lovely high ring to it and the lid is a perfect fit so it feels like quality piece but I have no idea about its age or origins, and I'm not even sure what to call it - is it an old sweetmeat jar or just a more modern lidded bowl or trinket pot? Any opinions or pointers would be most helpful!
Thanks,
Jay

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline brucebanner

• Members
    • Victorian glass
    • United Kingdom
Re: Old Cut Glass Lidded Bowl or Sweetmeat Jar
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2016, 07:45:43 PM »
Very nice, similar to a few Richardsons designs from the 1850's that are  in Hajdamach British glass 1800-1915, especially the decanter on page 105, it could be a lidded honey or sugar.
Chris Parry