No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: bristol/cobalt blue glass id?  (Read 625 times)

Offline neverwork

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • georgian glass
    • uk
bristol/cobalt blue glass id?
« on: January 24, 2017, 10:17:43 AM »
hi there. i'm new to collecting glass so please be gentle! i have been offered three glasses all similar to the one pictured below. any ifo greatly appreciated age? use are these wine or cordial glasses? the rims look to have been reground, how much does this affect value? cheers.

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline Lustrousstone

• Members
    • Warrington, UK
    • My Gallery
Re: bristol/cobalt blue glass id?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2017, 11:04:57 AM »
Welcome to the board. We need a bit more info to help you. Can we have the dimensions and rim and base shots please.

My gut feeling is that they are relatively modern, as in 20th C, but I could be way off

Support the Glass Message Board by finding glass through glass-seek.com

Offline neverwork

• Members
    • georgian glass
    • uk
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2017, 11:37:07 AM »
yes of course, thanks. they are approx 15cm tall. the stem measures 8.5cm, the diameter of the bowl is 4.5cm and the base between 6-6.5cm. they are quite uneven, slightly lopsided with a good number of air bubble and ripples?

Offline neverwork

• Members
    • georgian glass
    • uk
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2017, 11:40:36 AM »
pics

Offline neverwork

• Members
    • georgian glass
    • uk
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2017, 11:42:00 AM »
and the other...