No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Fake Northwood Peacocks on Fence Bowls  (Read 6581 times)

Offline marie anne

• Members
Fake Northwood Peacocks on Fence Bowls
« on: April 04, 2017, 02:40:59 PM »
Thought I should share these pictures as I'm feeling a bit sad after being excited to buy these 2 Peacocks on the Fence bowls.  I'm pretty new to carnival glass but when I started looking at the bowls in detail they just looked too clean.  I've read Glen's posts from 2005/2006 and read that the bold N is a bit of a giveaway.  If anyone would like to tell me I'm wrong and the bowls are genuine then I'll be overjoyed, but I think they're fake  ???.  At least they were cheap but I should have remembered that if it seems too good to be true then it probably is!

Offline KevinH

• Global Moderator
  • Members
    • England
Re: Fake Northwood Peacocks on Fence Bowls
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2017, 05:26:30 PM »
I see nothing wrong.  :)

Clean carnival items are everywhere - they usually wash up well - especially if a soft brush has been used around connections for feet etc.  I use a Northwood bowl for fruit. Works as it was intended.
KevinH

Offline marie anne

• Members
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2017, 06:04:25 PM »
Thanks for your reply.  I would be happy if you're right about nothing to worry about.  By too clean I meant not enough wear.  Maybe they've just been well looked after and I'm being paranoid.  I'd also read that the N on the base should be underlined or in a circle, it's just an N on my bowls. 

Offline KevinH

• Global Moderator
  • Members
    • England