No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Possibly Georgian Goblet/Rummer? ID = Kosta  (Read 3198 times)

Offline Nick A

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • USA
Possibly Georgian Goblet/Rummer? ID = Kosta
« on: January 08, 2018, 09:22:11 PM »
Looking for more information or a more positive ID and age on these glasses. I have some experience with antiques and these "feel" old to me. The quality, the wear and style/quality of the engraving all feel right for c.1800. The bases and stems are heavy and the "bowls" are very thin (~2 cm). They have polished pontils. They ring beautifully. It also appears that these have been repaired/maintained over the years with some chips being polished out, another sign that they have some age to them.

Height 15.5 cm (6-1/8 inches)
Diameter 8.5 cm (3-1/4 inches)
Width of Base 6.5 cm (2.5" inches)
Weight 12.4 oz

Link to high resolution photo album https://imgur.com/a/bY1uQ

Offline Paul S.

• Members
Re: Possibly Georgian Goblet/Rummer?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2018, 09:56:50 PM »
hi - welcome to the GMB Nick :)       You could well be correct with your suggested date for this piece - like most things dating isn't quite the exact science we might wish for.