No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Question about a Vicke Lindstrand Giraffe  (Read 5934 times)

Offline Glass Nisse

• Members
Question about a Vicke Lindstrand Giraffe
« on: April 26, 2009, 11:15:27 PM »
I am new to this message board but I am already impressed with the level of knowledge many of you have about Scandinavian glass. I am hoping someone can teach me something about a Vicke Lindstrand glass giraffe I recently acquired.

This is the giraffe found in several sizes up to about 13 inches. The characteristic giraffe markings are etched into the glass. I have seen dozens of these on Ebay and Tradera over the years. All of them are clear/colorless glass. The one I recently acquired is brown/amber colored. The color appears to be a coating the outside of the glass. It is marked: 'Kosta 95731 Lindstrand.'

Any thoughts?

Offline Lustrousstone

• Members
    • Warrington, UK
    • My Gallery
Re: Question about a Vicke Lindstrand Giraffe
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2009, 06:41:35 AM »
Welcome to the board. Can we see some photographs please, including of the base

Offline Bill G

• Glass Professional
  • Members
    • World Art Glass
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2009, 02:28:59 PM »
Hi:

Just a point: The crystal bowl was not etched but copper wheel engraved.

Bill Geary

Offline Glass Nisse

• Members
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2009, 11:50:04 PM »
OK, here's my best attempt at an image. It's hard to see but the area between the "legs" is colorless.

Thanks for your interest.

Offline a40ty

• Members
  • Copenhagen, Denmark
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2009, 06:00:04 AM »