No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: 70's Junk? ID help please  (Read 2929 times)

Offline Alton11

• Members
70's Junk? ID help please
« on: September 30, 2009, 02:27:46 PM »
just like the way these look. especially like the flowing illusion of the orange one. wondering if anyone knew who may have made them and when?.....thnx

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline malwodyn

• Members
Re: 70's Junk? ID help please
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2009, 02:41:05 PM »
I'm not an expert on early Caithness paperweights, but I do have one which puzzled me for several years before I worked out that one of the pairs of initials scratched on the base was CT - Colin Terris!

I know now there is a code identifying the year of production of later weights, but I understand that this does not apply to the very earliest production.

What I'm trying to say is that both look rather "Caithness" to me, and if 70s, certainly not junk. (Well, I like them!!!

Support the Glass Message Board by finding glass through glass-seek.com

Offline Wuff

• Members
    • Scotland's Glass
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2009, 04:33:27 PM »
TADPOLE: Difficult to be sure, as the views are so different, and your base looks rather dark brown - but you may want to hold your weight next to the image of Fire Dance on Scotlandsglass to get the same viewing angle.

ORANGE: If looking for a comparable Caithness weight, I guess one would start with Moonflower - but your weight is not a Moonflower. As a matter of fact, I'm pretty sure it's not Caithness - the base doesn't fit.