Glass Identification - Post here for all ID requests > Glass Animals & Figurines

Wedgwood Elephant expert needed for ID please.

(1/9) > >>

rosieposie:
I collect Wedgwood Ellies and have several,  so I was surprised to see this one listed as Wedgwood:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Wedgwood-Glass-Elephant-Clear-Glass-/250994227900

To me it a looked like Ngwenya glass from Swaziland.
I have written to the seller as she said it has the Wedgwood mark on the base, and has sent me a picture of a Wedgwood acid etched mark she says is on the base,  but I am really not convinced.

Is there anyone who can verify that Wedgwood did make this ellie, and the Wedgwood Rhino she is also selling?

Tigerchips:
The glass looks as though it has a green tint to it. I don't think Wedgwood would have used recycled glass, but i'm no expert.

rosieposie:
Thanks Tigerchips, I agree it looks very like recycled glass. Do you know if anyone would have fabricated a Wedgwood acid etched mark to put on other pieces?

I did wonder at first if perhaps Wedgwood had made this as a help to get Ngwenya glass started,  but I looked up the history of the start of Ngwenya and it would seem it was the Swedish company, Kosta Boda that did all the pioneering help for then to get started.

The acid etched mark looks pretty authentic except it is straight lettering rather than the usual oval shape.....still feeling uneasy about this, yet the seller is insistent.
Any other comments would be really gratefully received as I collect Wedgwood Ellies and if this is really a rare one,  I don't want to miss out.

Mods,  am I allowed to put up the picture of the acid etched mark the seller sent me?

Paul S.: