No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Glass shards  (Read 8024 times)

Offline Saule

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • Glass shard making
    • Australia
Glass shards
« on: May 09, 2017, 03:36:26 AM »
Hello, I am an art student and need to make a high heel use using glass shards. I have tried several joiners, but none keep the shape of the shoe. The joiners don't work too well either.
To make the shoe I can only use one element and one joiner.
Has anyone any suggestions.
Cheers

Offline chopin-liszt

• Members
    • Scotland, Europe.
Re: Glass shards
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2017, 02:08:17 PM »
Have you tried using proper glass glue?
It's available in most hardware places, you use an ultra-violet light to set it.
Don't bother with the really cheap stuff, it's just a waste of money and you'll only make a mess. Get something with a name you trust. It's still not expensive.
Cheers, Sue M. (she/her)

‘For every problem there is a solution: neat, plausible and wrong’. H.L.Mencken

Offline Saule

• Members
    • Glass shard making
    • Australia
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2017, 08:48:56 AM »
Hello,
Thank you for your reply.

No I haven't tried glass glue. I've used silicon gel and a glue called 'Fix All' by Soudal.
I thought I could just throw the shards together with a glue to form a mass of glass shards, all held together by glueg, then mould the mass into the shape of the shoe. That certainly didn't / doesn't work..
I wouldn't have the time to glue each piece of glass shard separately into a mould and use ultra violet light to 'fix' it.