No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Butterfly Paperweight Info Requested  (Read 1445 times)

Offline rorus

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • Glass
    • United Kingdom
Butterfly Paperweight Info Requested
« on: April 29, 2020, 03:38:31 PM »
Hello, I thought I'd share my paperweights with you all. I don't know anything about them, but I enjoy looking at them. If you would like to tell me about them, I would be very grateful. Sorry I'm not good at taking photos.

Thank you.

[Mod: This thread is now limited to the central butterfly weight in the pics. The other two weights now have their own threads. Titles of threads have been edited accordingly.]

2nd Weight, see - Yellow and White Overlay Paperweight Info Requested

3rd Weight, see - Blue and White Overlay Paperweight - Info Requested

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline chopin-liszt

• Members
    • Scotland, Europe.
Re: My Paperweights
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2020, 07:40:32 PM »
Hello and welcome.  :)
You're not that bad at photographing them either!
And you have interesting things there, although weights are not my thing, i can tell enough to know you do not have cheap tat. ;D
Others will be able to help you and tell you what they are.

I'm particularly taken with the butterfly, and am wondering if it is a really good Scottish weight or of Bohemian origins.   ;D 
Have you looked very carefully wth a magnifier, to see if any of the tiny canes in it have any letters in them?