No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Antique Paperweight - Glass ball with snake ID Help Please  (Read 3567 times)

Offline obscurities

• Members
    • Bohemian and Czech glass
    • Gatesville, Texas
    • Kralik-Glass.com
I bought this at an auction several years back as it fascinated me completely...... It is quite old and I am a total novice at paperweights... Don't really collect them, this was just too different to pass on...  The whole thing is about 4 inches tall, the glass is about 2 inches in diameter.....  Any helpful suggestions would be greatly appreciated.....  Origin? Age?  ??

Thanks, Craig
I have been told that glass is my mistress......

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline KevinH

• Global Moderator
  • Members
    • England
Re: Antique Paperweight - Glass ball with snake ID Help Please
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2009, 10:30:21 PM »
That is a fascinating item. Is the snake actually glass?
KevinH

Support the Glass Message Board by finding glass through glass-seek.com

Offline obscurities

• Members
    • Gatesville, Texas
    • Kralik-Glass.com
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2009, 11:09:24 PM »
No, I am sorry if I did not state that. The snake is actually cast metal attached to the glass. It is attached by a small post off the bottom of the snake that goes into the glass ball. It appears it used to be quite colorful from the polychrome remnants that are present.  There is a lot of age wear to the glass, and obviously to the metal snake.

Not only is it quite a fascinating piece, the story behind it is just as unique.