No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Float Glass exportation  (Read 913 times)

Offline See through Noob

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • Australia
Float Glass exportation
« on: September 08, 2014, 02:49:53 PM »
Hi,

I'm a see through noob (uni student doing some research on a company but with a genuine interest in glass) with a dumb question:

How is glass generally exported or shipped in mass?

As ridiculous as it sounds, I just think there would be a be alot of breakages (not joking). Is there a way of transporting it safely?

Or do companies tend to set up domestic plants?

Thanks in advance for your help. I've had a quick read through the forum and enjoyed reading it - though most of it went over my head.

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline Fuhrman Glass

• Glass Professional
  • Members
Re: Float Glass exportation
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2014, 07:50:44 PM »
shipped in wooden crates and loaded into containers to go all over the world. In the wooden crates the sheets  are stacked on edge with a sheet of paper between every piece of glass. It is all packed very tightly and with lots of cushioning on the top and bottom. There are literally boat loads full of it being shipped all the time.

Support the Glass Message Board by finding glass through glass-seek.com

Offline glassobsessed

• Members
    • Mdina
    • South Wales
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2014, 11:00:21 PM »