No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Michael Harris Signed Crizzle stone?  (Read 4086 times)

Offline johngowen

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • Mdina and Isle of Wight
    • UK
Michael Harris Signed Crizzle stone?
« on: January 19, 2016, 08:14:28 AM »
I have been collecting Mdina pieces for the last 3 years, still very much a beginner but enjoying getting to know what is worth collecting after a few doggy purchases  :) please see the picture of some I have on show in my kitchen.

I have been lucky to have found what I believe is a Crizzle Stone signed by Michael Harris...I was hoping someone could confirm whether this was the case or not? Size 28.5cm wide by 19.5cm high. It has a lovely lilac inner, I hope it is visible in the photos.

Could anyone advise me when it would have been blown, how many know Crizzle Stones are there, how many are signed and a guestimate on it's value.

Thanks in anticipation.

John

Offline chopin-liszt

• Members
    • Scotland, Europe.
Re: Michael Harris Signed Crizzle stone?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2016, 02:03:06 PM »
It looks fine to me. :)
They would have been made sometime between '68 and '71, probably closer to '71 than '68, as he would have had to gain some experience with handling hot glass before embarking on something so large and complicated.

I have been trying to keep count of them as they have appeared over the years, I think yours is possibly the 37th I've heard of, but there is a possibility I have counted the same one more than once, as they changed hands and there might be some I've missed.