No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Odd old silver mounted glass/goblet 19th century?  (Read 765 times)

Offline Novaglass

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • Antique
    • France
Odd old silver mounted glass/goblet 19th century?
« on: June 16, 2020, 08:46:21 PM »
Hi,

I'll admit to being a newbie here, both to the site and the world of glass. I do have a fondness of antiques and a collection of them however. I've been studying the field for a good few years now.

I recently purchased this peace. I found it to be rather charming but I was wondering if anyone else could help me with identifying it.

It's about 10cm tall. The silver base adds about 3 cm.

It seems to be hand blown and the décor is a mixture of painted and etched on (apologies for how unclear that will look in the pictures). It shows different plants and birds.

At some point, the stem has been broken. Only a small piece is still visible underneath. Unfortunately, the gluing job was a bit haphazard which has left that sort of cement stuff underneath and around the rim. I'm fairly sure that the base is silver, having cleaned it. There's also an "A&D" mark under one of the legs.

And that's all I know... I'm hoping that someone here might be able to shed some more light on this piece.

Please forgive the poor quality photos. I can get better ones tomorrow.

Thanks for your opinions,

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline bat20

• Members
    • east sussex
Re: Odd old silver mounted glass/goblet 19th century?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2020, 11:15:06 PM »