No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: ID HELP Potentially Italian or maybe Scandinavian? Angular gourd shape vase.  (Read 699 times)

Offline oldoldnotnewstore

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • United Kingdom
Hi there. Would love some help ID-ing this vase!

I'd describe the shape as an angular gourd or - more accurately - an inverted mushroom shape (!!). I'm a newbie so maybe I am not correct but I'd describe it as a form of cased glass: a white base with a mottled blue-black base, cased in a clear gloss layer of glass. I've had a good search about using various online databases but haven't found anything particularly close.

Finish-wise this is the closest I've found: https://www.selency.nl/product/YX9Z3V4P/vintage-empoli-black-and-white-mottled-glass-jug-from-italy-1970-s.html

Dimensions
Height: 15" | 38cm
Diameter: 10" | 25cm
Width of rim: 60mm
Diameter of base: 5" | 13cm
Weight: 2.238kg

Extra info:
The rim is cut and flat.
The base appears to have 2 pontil marks which have a lightly scratched surface. Otherwise the base is lightly dimpled.

Thanks in advance for any help! And if you need any additional info/photos to help with ID-ing please let me know.

All the best

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline flying free

• Members
    • UK
Hi and welcome to the board.  And thank you for the great clear photographs :)