No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Sowerby 1234 Good Shepherd? vase  (Read 2822 times)

Offline Paul S.

• Members
Re: Sowerby 1234 Good Shepherd? vase
« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2011, 12:22:02 PM »
thanks for your time Christine :)  -  we will agree to disagree then, for the time being. :)           I haven't discussed with Raymond Slack the precise nature of all his sources, although obviously he was quoting from the Pottery Gazette at various times, and whilst I have no first hand experience of how reliable or otherwise that source might have been, I note your comments that it may well have been less than dependable at times.
Of course we all know that Vitro-Porcelain was offered by many factories, ultimately, although I think it has a more than passing importance in this matter since it was a Sowerby invention, and was possibly the first of the non glass-looking creations.      It would seem likely that a standard 'white' version (obviously immitating porcelain, since that seems to have been the whole point of the excercise) was almost certainly the first colour to be produced (a natural colour and not needing any staining or additional colourants).

Of the three main types of pressed glass we have mentioned, it would appear that the Queen's Ivory Ware was the only one patented.

There is a lot of information packed into page 35 in Slack, and I'd be the first to admit that I'm rubbish at chemistry, so don't pretend to understand all of the details.