No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Crystal of Edinburgh, genuine or not?  (Read 14370 times)

Offline bibouille

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • glasses
    • England
Crystal of Edinburgh, genuine or not?
« on: March 26, 2013, 12:15:57 PM »
Hello everyone, I am not an expert in glasses so I hope you can help!

I have just purchased these used wine glasses which were supposedly Edinburgh crystal in an original box, but I have some doubts that they are real Edinburgh crystal...
They have no markings on the base is that normal?
I have looked at the discontinued patterns and could not find anything like these.
Any idea if they are genuine Crystal of Edinburgh and what pattern/style? Thank you!

Marianne

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline chopin-liszt

• Members
    • Scotland, Europe.
Re: Crystal of Edinburgh, genuine or not?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2013, 12:27:32 PM »
Hello and welcome!  :)

More recent Edinburgh Crystal has "Edinburgh" etched on the top of the foot.
I'm afraid it's very difficult to tell from your images exactly what the cutting looks like - it looks to be a very traditional sort of pattern - but I cannot even tell if they are pressed or cut glass.
The box and its purple satin lining are right!
Cheers, Sue M. (she/her)

‘For every problem there is a solution: neat, plausible and wrong’. H.L.Mencken

Support the Glass Message Board by finding glass through glass-seek.com

Offline bibouille

• Members
    • glasses
    • England
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2013, 01:14:26 PM »
Hi Sue, thank you!