No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Mdina glass ID? ID confirmed as Mdian  (Read 657 times)

Offline GeoffLondon

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • London
    • GWakeling
Mdina glass ID? ID confirmed as Mdian
« on: January 04, 2014, 03:57:08 PM »
I'm extremely new to antiques and collectibles and have steered clear of glass for a while - simply because I don't really know much about the area. However, at the small local fair today I saw this lovely little pink vase. It was sold as Mdina, but having come home and fired up the Internet, I'm thinking it's a fake.

There's no signature on the bottom and I can't find anything very similar online. Can anyone with some knowledge give me a little info.

I'm not hugely disappointed as I still think it's nice and I only paid £10.

Much appreciated,

Geoff

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline chopin-liszt

• Members
    • Scotland, Europe.
Re: Mdina glass ID?
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 04:06:52 PM »
That's Mdina, not a shadow of doubt.  :)
Probably from sometime in the '80s, not a Michael Harris design, after his time. Probably Joseph Said.

Welcome to the gmb! :)

Loads of folk don't know much about glass - it's a complicated sort of area - but absolutely fascinating. ;D
Cheers, Sue M. (she/her)

Earth without art is just eh.

Support the Glass Message Board by finding glass through glass-seek.com

Offline Lustrousstone

• Members
    • Warrington, UK
    • My Gallery
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2014, 04:11:23 PM »