No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: unidentified glue chip vase  (Read 2351 times)

Offline 2*pleese*u

• Members
unidentified glue chip vase
« on: April 09, 2016, 01:19:30 AM »
Here is a vase that is sure to confound the most knowledgeable art glass collector. I have been collecting for 15 years and it really frustrates me after 5 years of research, I still have not identified this one. the vase stands 12-1/2" tall with a 3-3/4" base and a 6" by 6" upper rim area at the shoulders. There is extensive wear to the base. there are no identifiable markings to the base by any means. the glass is heavy and thick and the foot of the vase is highly unusual. It is a opeac clear glass on the base area graduating into a green color towards the top. All corners are rounded off. It is essentially Square in shape from a birds eye view with the softened corners. the vase has a indent or pinch on all four sides. the upper vase opening is located at the top after the vase sides curve in level from the shoulder edges and is circular. the inside rim diameter is 4-1/8". The pattern or texture is a very consistent glue chip technique. Any help would be appreciated. The only two possibilities I can come up with are Pierre D'Avesn, France or Maurice Marinot France as well.  here is a link where I have this vase posted and you can see it.  Michael. http://www.collectorsweekly.com/stories/187422-unknown-fabulous-glue-chip-vase-art-nou

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline glassobsessed

• Members
    • Mdina
    • South Wales
Re: unidentified glue chip vase