No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Riedel Panther paperweight.  (Read 3216 times)

Offline Anne Tique

• Members
    • Kingdom of Belgium
    • https://www.pinterest.com/annetiquebe/
Riedel Panther paperweight.
« on: November 13, 2018, 07:41:53 PM »
Hello,

As i am new to Bohemian glass, I just wanted to show my second find. I did not know at the time what I was buying but recognised a certain quality. As i waited for it to be delivered, I managed to identify it  through a well known on-line source who was happy to authenticate it through some images. It's by Joseph Riedel and dated 1880-1885.

It's a bit knocked here and there and in between the panther and the black glass base, there's a layer of some metal foil that has corroded with time, and now gives a yellowy/orangy glow to the piece. It's only a tiny little thing, 11,5 cm long, 5,5 cm wide and 7 cm in height.

I decided not to clean it completely, I think it looks nice a little aged.

Offline tremblas

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • Glass french
    • France
Re: Riedel Panther paperweight.
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2018, 09:31:54 PM »
I like the earthy soil that highlights the animal and recalls the nuances created by Sabino in his opalescences. Maybe a more thorough cleaning would give the panther more glamor? Very nice room. ;)

Offline Anne Tique

• Members
    • Kingdom of Belgium
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2018, 09:37:44 PM »
Merci!

Re the cleaning, I did it a little bit, but thought it might be better to keep an aged look?

Offline Lustrousstone

• Members
    • Warrington, UK
    • My Gallery