No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Glass Decanters - stars & ellipse cuts  (Read 783 times)

Offline Alanladd

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • Perthshire Paperweights
    • Ireland
Glass Decanters - stars & ellipse cuts
« on: February 12, 2021, 12:53:04 AM »
Hi there,
I have two decanters which I got from a house clearance and was wondering if anyone could shed any light on them.
Both seem to be glass and not crystal, though being a novice here I could be completely off the mark.
One has a single row of ellipse shapes etched vertically on both the main body AND the stopper.
The 2nd has a single row of an 8 point star (not too uncommon to a compass) followed by an ellipse on the horizontal etched, again, on the main body AND the stopper.
Photos are attached below.

Any thoughts or ideas would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
Shane Mcd

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline Ekimp

• Members
    • England
Re: Glass Decanters - stars & ellipse cuts
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2021, 11:33:47 AM »
Hi, they are Victorian style shaft and globe decanters, I would say they are probably late Victorian.