No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Heart & Vine Glass Vase, Signed.. Tiffany?  (Read 605 times)

Offline Tipton444

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • United States
Heart & Vine Glass Vase, Signed.. Tiffany?
« on: April 18, 2023, 08:51:56 PM »
Hello all!

I recently picked up this beautiful vase at an estate sale, and I'm trying to find out more about it.  I am a dealer in jewelry and Asian art, but I'm far from an expert on art glass, so any help would be appreciated!  I believe it is a heart and vine pattern, and I do believe it has some good age to it, but I'm not certain.  There is the FAINTEST engraved mark on the bottom that can really only be seen when held up to a light... and I just can't make out what it says exactly... The more I look at it, I wonder if it actually says "TIFFANY" with a really fancy cursive T... but where's the second F in the center?  You can clearly see an "i" for the second letter, and it certainly looks like "ny" at the end, but I could totally just be imagining it!  The weird part is, I saw a couple early Tiffany pieces with a crazy cursive T, somewhat similar but not exact.  Also, Tiffany did make some early heart and vine vases, but none in this shape that I could find.  AND Tiffany never seemed to write just the word "Tiffany" as it usually had LCT or Favrile with it, so it seems but I'm no expert.  So, I'm guessing it doesn't actually say Tiffany, unless it does and someone just wrote it in to be deceitful.  There's a number underneath as well, either a year that looks like 1980, or a production number.  I was thinking this vase is