No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: round-bottomed, flat-sided, wide-mouth jar  (Read 2075 times)

Offline jonjobriggs

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • United Kingdom
round-bottomed, flat-sided, wide-mouth jar
« on: August 26, 2018, 01:16:07 PM »
I'm a complete novice, only found this forum today, so apols if this question is naive.

I have two round-bottomed, flat-sided, wide-mouth jars (or, possibly, stoppers?) embosseed with regd No 784837.  Which, I think, dates them to the 1930s. Industrial-looking not ornate.

They came out of dredgings from a canal in Shropshire 30 years ago, close to a former fertiliser factory.

They have threaded openings for a lid but are round bottomed and flat-sided, so can't stand up unless upside-down. It is, perhaps, possible they are actually some sort of stopper for a larger vessel. But as the openings are about 4 inches across it would have to be a very much bigger vessel.

Any clues or thoughts welcome, thanks.

There is an image on imgur at https://imgur.com/aAo6301

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline agincourt17

• Members
    • Pressed glass 1840-1900
    • Wales
Re: round-bottomed, flat-sided, wide-mouth jar
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2018, 08:46:34 AM »
Welcome to the GMB.

RD 784837 was registered by Jack L. Barnett Limited, 18 Basinghall Street, (Boar Lane End), Leeds, on 15 July 1933.

I think that you are probably correct in that you have 2 jars.

Barnett registered several designs for glass objects, including those in the attached photos below.