No-one likes general adverts, and ours hadn't been updated for ages, so we're having a clear-out and a change round to make the new ones useful to you. These new adverts bring in a small amount to help pay for the board and keep it free for you to use, so please do use them whenever you can, Let our links help you find great books on glass or a new piece for your collection. Thank you for supporting the Board.

Author Topic: Bird Head marking on emerald green cruet set  (Read 767 times)

Offline moongazer

• Members
  • I'm new, please be gentle
    • vintage and antique glass
    • United States
Bird Head marking on emerald green cruet set
« on: March 02, 2020, 07:52:01 PM »
I am a novice at identifying marks and glassware. I have looked everywhere I know and cannot find another cruet set like this on the net nor can I find this mark anywhere.

A person with some knowledge of vintage and antique glassware said the set is a 1930-1940s emerald green cruet lazy susan on glass pedestal.

My Mother bought it at a garage sale in 1977. It is in excellent shape except for some minor chips on the edge of the pedestal. These chips are not visible when the tray in sitting on the pedestal. The oil and vinegar vessels are the only parts that have the bird head marks. This bird head also has a long beak like a raven. It is embossed over what looks like a pontil.

Can anyone enlighten me on the set and the mark?

Thanks

Support the Glass Message Board by finding a book via book-seek.com

Offline chopin-liszt

• Members
    • Scotland, Europe.
Re: Bird Head marking on emerald green cruet set
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2020, 08:15:43 PM »
Hello and welcome! :)

I think you're looking at a gadget mark rather than a birds' head - it's just co-incidence it looks like a bird.
A bit like a bearded man's face turning up on toast sometimes. ;D